University of Alaska Fairbanks logo bear University of Alaska Fairbanks


  • Monday, October 12, 2015
  • Meeting with US Department of Commerce Assistant Secretary Jay Williams

In early 2015, the University of Alaska received an i6 Challenge Award through the US Economic Development Administration (EDA).  Through this, the Alaska Center for Microgrid Technologies Commercialization (ACMTC) received one of twenty-six awards made by the EDA for the creation of regional innovation centers aimed at supporting startup creation, innovation, and commercialization.

ACMTC is a joint project between the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF) and the University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA) meant to advance the commercialization of microgrid technologies with the objective of building a regional microgrid technology industry and to reduce cost of energy in remote Alaska and beyond.  Participating organizations in the Center include UAA’s Business Enterprise Institute, UAA’s Small Business Development Center, UAA’s Center for Economic Development, and UAF’s Alaska Center for Energy and Power. 

On October 6, the US Department of Commerce's Assistant Secretary Jay Williams traveled to Anchorage to meet with the ACMTC team.  Serving in a leadership role at the EDA, Williams was able to participate in a meeting with the team as they presented their plans for the newly formed Center. 

Left to Right: Angela Belden Martinez (US DOC/EDA), Christi Bell (UAA BEI), Shirley Kelly (AK representative, US EDA), Assistant Secretary of Commerce Jay Williams, Marc Mueller-Stoffels (UAF ACEP), Nolan Klouda (UAA CED).