University of Alaska Fairbanks logo bear University of Alaska Fairbanks


  • Sunday, March 05, 2017
  • ACEP Director Receives Award to Explore Potential for Science Policy Fellowship

ACEP Director, Gwen Holdmann, was one of nine recipients of a California Council on Science and Technology (CCST) award. This award allows the recipient, through working with state policy makers, to design a Policy Fellowship to train scientists and engineers in the craft of policy making.

The award encourages other states to replicate or adapt the already successful CCST Science & Technology Policy fellowship which has trained nearly 80 scientists in California since 2009. The other states receiving the award include: Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, North Carolina, and Washington.

Holdmann says of the fellowship, “Science and policy — in an ideal world — are joined at the hip. It’s difficult to enact sound policy without understanding the underlying science, and the creation of new knowledge blossoms under a supportive policy regime.”

Find out more about the award at:

 Photo by Todd Paris/UAF